George Smyth

Room, Administration Building, Henryton ~ Bromoil

This image is the remains of a large room in the Administration Building at Henryton. Henryton Center was established in 1922 for the care of African-American tuberculosis patients. Sarah A. Collins Fernandis, the first African-American female social worker in Maryland, was instrumental in the erection of this facility. In 1963 the hospital was transferred to the Department of Mental Hygiene and began operation as a training and habilitation program for severely and profoundly retarded ambulatory adults. The center was closed in 1985.

Discover more inspiring photos like this one.

Download the FREE 500px app Open in app