In 1569, having taken Ayutthaya, King Bayinnaung of Hongsawadi (now part of Myanmar) built a large chedi in the Mon style, next to the Buddhist temple of Wat Phukhao Thong, to commemorate his victory. Over the next two centuries the chedi fell into disrepair. In a restoration during the reign of King Boromakot (ruled 1733–1758) a new chedi in Thai style, having a square plan with indented corners, was built on the base of the ruin. [2] The adjacent temple, founded by King Ramesuan in 1387, is still in use.

Discover more inspiring photos like this one.

Download the FREE 500px app Open in app