The Molino Spagnolo or Spanish mill is the only windmill which remained from a series of nine built by the Senesi and subsequently restored by the Spanish when the lagoon city became the capital of the little State of Presidi (1557). The mill has a circular shape and, along with the others, was used to grind the flour destined to the city’s inhabitants. Suggestively rising from the lagoon, the building is located at the beginning of an artificial dam built by Grand Duke Leopold II in 1842 to connect Orbetello to Argentario.

Discover more inspiring photos like this one.

Download the FREE 500px app Open in app