Eremo e monastero di Fonte Avellana - Monastero della Santa croce (PU) Fu costruita dal 1171 sopra l'unica navata (distrutta per costruirla) di quello che oggi è la Cripta.
La forma è a croce latina in stile romanico (mancano le finestre) con un'unica navata con il presbiterio ed il coro rialzati posti sopra la Cripta.
La Basilica fu consacrata per la prima volta nel 1197.
Nella Basilica trova posto sopra l'altare maggiore l'imponente Crocifisso ligneo di Francesco Tiraboschi da Pavia realizzato nel 1567.

Hermitage and monastery of Fonte Avellana - Monastery of the Holy Cross (PU) was built from 1171 above the nave (destroyed to build it) of what is now the crypt.
The shape of a Latin cross in the Romanesque style (lack of windows) with a single nave and the chancel and choir seats raised above the crypt.
The Basilica was consecrated for the first time in 1197.
The Basilica is located above the main altar of the imposing wooden crucifix Francis Tiraboschi made ​​from Pavia in 1567.

Discover more inspiring photos like this one.

Download the FREE 500px app Open in app