10% off all photos on 500px Prime until July 31Start exploring now!

Norcia (PG) Santuario Maria Addolorata .
La dedicazione alla Maria Addolorata risale al miracolo del 1735, prima di questo la chiesa era in dedicazione a S.Giacomo di Norcia, dopo il terremoto del 1703, a San Filippo.
L’evento miracoloso in seguito a cui si decise per la nuova denominazione fu una lacrimazione della Vergine raffigurata in un dipinto donato da Don Mattia Amadio alla città di Norcia. Anche oggi il dipinto è conservato sull’altare maggiore.
All’interno il santuario si struttura a pianta ovale, presbiterio curvilineo e mostre d’altare sui lati.
Di particolare interesse l’organo posto sopra il bussolotto dell’ingresso. All’esterno la chiesa presenta sulla facciata con quattro lesene che vanno a sorreggere il timpano triangolare, su di esso troviamo quattro statue in gesso del 1935. Gli ultimi lavori di modifica della facciata risalgono alla fine del secolo XIX.

Norcia (PG) Shrine of Our Lady of Sorrows.
Dedication to Our Lady of Sorrows was the miracle of 1735, before that the church was in dedication to Saint James of Norcia, after the earthquake of 1703, St. Philip.
This miraculous event after it was decided for the new name was a tearing of the Virgin depicted in a painting donated by Don Matthew Amadio to the town of Norcia. Even today, the painting is kept on the high altar.
Inside the sanctuary structure oval, curved chancel and altar exhibitions on the sides.
Of particular interest is the organ placed over the sleeve of the input. Outside the church is on the front with four pilasters that go to support the triangular pediment, on it there are four statues in plaster in 1935. The last modification works of the façade dating from the late nineteenth century.

Discover more inspiring photos like this one.

Download the FREE 500px app Open in app