Often called the most beautiful home in Lillooet, the Miyazaki residence on Russell Street stands directly behind the post office. With its wide entrance and large porch, shuttered windows and "gingerbread" look, it reflects the architecture of the 1890's era when it was built.

This stately home was built by Gold Commissioner and prominent merchant Caspar Phair and his wife Cerise. It was named Longford House and designed in the same style as Mrs. Phair's ancestral home, Eyrecourt, in Ireland.

The Phair's eldest son, Artie, was the first non-native child born in Lillooet. The house became the home of Dr. Masajiro Miyazaki and his family in the mid 1940's. He donated the house to the Village of Lillooet in 1983.

Discover more inspiring photos like this one.

Download the FREE 500px app Open in app