The original Stamford Inn was constructed in 1900, and was in use until Christmas Eve, 1924 when it was destroyed by a fire. Five people died in the fire including a man named "Ernest" who was trying to save others in the hotel fire.

Ernest's body was found on top of this boiler water in the basement where the floor apparently had collapsed beneath him.

The building was re-built on top of the original site and in fact the basement is actually the same basement from the original structure. The hotel shut down in the 70s and was repurposed into a nursing home for many years. Eventually the building became a private club and eventually was abandoned in the early 80s. It has sat vacant since then.

There's been numerous reports of the building being haunted and it is claimed that Ernest still roams the basement today.

Discover more inspiring photos like this one.

Download the FREE 500px app Open in app