Save 20% on Awesome and Plus accounts with Our A+ Back to School Sale Upgrade now

The Mount Rushmore National Memorial is a huge sculpture carved into the granite face of Mount Rushmore near Keystone, South Dakota, in the United States. Sculpted between October 4, 1927, and October 31, 1941, by Danish-American Gutzon Borglum, Mount Rushmore features 60-foot (18 m) sculptures of the heads of former United States Presidents (in order from left to right) George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Theodore Roosevelt and Abraham Lincoln.

Originally known to the Lakota Sioux as Six Grandfathers, the mountain in the Black Hills was renamed after Charles E. Rushmore, a prominent New York lawyer, during an expedition in 1885. Mount Rushmore is controversial among Native Americans because the United States seized the area from the Lakota tribe after the Great Sioux War of 1876. The Treaty of Fort Laramie from 1868 had previously granted the Black Hills to the Lakota in perpetuity.

Processing for Infrared

Discover more inspiring photos like this one.

Download the FREE 500px app Open in app