Ivory House was built in 1858 and is the only original warehouse still standing in St Katharine Docks today. It was restored to its current state in 1973, and today houses a mixture of shops, restaurants and high-end luxury apartments with stunning city views.
This original warehouse became popularly known as the Ivory House due to the vast quantities of ivory that passed through it. At its peak in the 1870s, nearly 200 tons of ivory covered its floors annually, amounting to almost 4000 dead elephants. Aside from ivory, the warehouse also handled other luxury imports such as perfume, shells, and wine in the expansive basement vaults.