Save 20% on Awesome and Plus accounts with Our A+ Back to School Sale Upgrade now

The Hall of Prayer for Good Harvests[BeiJing ]

- Built in 1420 (the 18th year of the reign of Emperor Yongle of the Ming dynasty), the original hall was rectangular in shape and was originally named the Great Hall for Sacrificial Rituals. It was used to worship both earth and heaven. In 1545 (the 24th year of the Ming Emperor Jiajing’s reign), it was rebuilt into a round hall with a triple-eave roof and the eaves were covered with blue, yellow and green glazed tiles respectively, symbolizing heaven, earth and the mortal world. At this time, it was renamed the Great Hall for Offering Sacrifices. Reconstructed in 1751 (the 16th year of the reign of the Qing Emperor Qianlong), it was surmounted by a triple roof with azure glazed tiles only, culminating in a gilded sphere, and designated the Hall of Prayer for Good Harvests. It was exclusively used to pray for good harvests in early spring.

Discover more inspiring photos like this one.

Download the FREE 500px app Open in app